9 Proven Stages for Incident Handlers – E|CIH

Show multiple facets of incident response

E|CIH EC-Council Certified Incident Handler - iLearn

Work through the 9 stages an Incident Handler must address when facing a incident caused by an outside malicious attack.

Incident Handler Course Description

EC-Council presents this course from its iLearn library. iLearn courses are all self-study at your pace courses. After completing the course, you will be able to take the exam (see more information in the "Exam" tab below). Once you pass the exam you will be able to obtain your credential and certificate.


Why should I take this course?

Here are some benefits to you from this course:

  • Gain access to new, advanced labs: The E|CIH program comes with access to over 50 labs, 800 tools, and 4 OSs
  • What you learn is compliant with major industry frameworks: 100% compliant with the NICE 2.0 Framework and the CREST Framework
  • Comprehensive templates available: a large array of templates, check lists and cheat sheets will be available

Incidents continue to increase. Get certified and get prepared.

How does it work?

FSE|ICC is an EC-Council reseller. We handle the transaction with you and then EC-Council will provide you access to course content, instruction, examinations, certifications and anything else associated with the course.


How do I get started?

Add this course to you cart and finish the checkout process. EC-Council will work directly with us to get you registered for your course. We'll send your course materials, login information any other information that you'll need to take and finish the course. If you have any questions, drop us an email at info@fseicc.com. Well get back to you with answers to your questions.

E|CIH EC-Council Certified Incident Handler

Who Is It For?

The incident handling skills taught in E|CIH are complementary to the job roles below as well as many other cybersecurity jobs:

  • Penetration Testers
  • Vulnerability Assessment Auditors
  • Risk Assessment Administrators
  • Network Administrators
  • Application Security Engineers
  • Cyber Forensic Investigators/ Analyst and SOC Analyst
  • System Administrators/Engineers
  • Firewall Administrators and Network Managers/IT Managers

E|CIH is a specialist-level program designed for mid-level to high-level cybersecurity professionals. We  recommend that you have at least 1 year of experience in the cybersecurity domain for greatest training success.

E|CIH members work in Fortune 500 organizations globally.

E|CIH EC-Council Certified Incident Handler

About the Program

Course Duration:
Total Training 3 Days or 24 hours total class time

You can take the E|CIH exam after the completion of the official E|CIH course taught either by any EC-Council Authorized Training Center (ATCs) or by EC-Council directly. If you successfully pass the exam, you will receive the E|CIH certificate and membership privileges. Members are required to adhere to the policies of EC-Council’s Continuing Education Policy.

E|CIH EC-Council Certified Incident Handler

About the Exam

Here’s what to expect:

Exam Title EC-Council Certified Incident Handler
Exam Code 212-89
Number of Questions 100
Duration 3 hours
Availability EC-Council Exam Portal
Test Format Multiple Choice
Passing Score 70%


Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible to take the E|CIH Exam, you must either:

Attend official E|CIH training through any of EC-Council’s Authorized Training Centers (ATCs) or attend EC-Council’s live online training via iWeek or join our self-study program through iLearn (see https://iclass.eccouncil.org).


You have a minimum of 1 year of work experience in the domain associated with this course, and that you would like to apply to take the exam directly without attending training. The USD100 Eligibility Application Fee applies in your case. This fee is included in your training fee should you choose to attend training.

E|CIH EC-Council Certified Incident Handler

Training Options

iLearn (Self-Study)
iLearn is an asynchronous, self-study format which delivers EC-Council’s sought after IT Security training courses in a streaming video format.

iWeek (Live Online)
The iWeek format provides a live, online, instructor-led training course, which you can attend from anywhere with an internet connection.

Masterclass offers you the opportunity to learn from world-class instructors and the opportunity to collaborate with top Infosecurity professionals.

Training Partner (In Person)
Training Partner offers “in-person” training in your location with the benefit of collaborating with your peers while gaining real-world skills.

E|CIH EC-Council Certified Incident Handler

Here’s what you’re going to study in this course:

Course Outline

  • Module 01: Introduction to Incident Handling and Response
  • Module 02: Incident Handling and Response Process
  • Module 03: Forensic Readiness and First Response
  • Module 04: Handling and Responding to Malware Incidents
  • Module 05: Handling and Responding to Email Security Incidents
  • Module 06: Handling and Responding to Network Security Incidents
  • Module 07: Handling and Responding to Web Application Security Incidents
  • Module 08: Handling and Responding to Cloud Security Incidents
  • Module 09: Handling and Responding to Insider Threats

Show what an incident handler does

E|CIH iLearn 

9 proven stages an Incident Handler uses to rebuild after an attack.


Category: Tag:

Get Your Training Questions Answered

Whether you need help finding the right course or just have questions about taking the training, we are here for you.